Sports‎ > ‎

2013 Australian Open - TV Schedule & Predictions

posted Dec 28, 2012, 3:46 PM by Simon Nguyen   [ updated Jan 24, 2013, 12:49 AM ]

This page features predictions, live stream and TV schedule (U.S.) for the 2013 Australian Open tennis championships. This is the year's first tennis grand slam event. The defending champions are Novak Djokovic (men) and Victoria Azarenka (women). The 2013 Australian Open is scheduled for January 14-27 in Melbourne Park.

U.S. TV Schedule

*Subject to change
**All day coverage (Day & Night sessions)

Sunday January 13 - Day 1 - Round 1
TV: ESPN2 (6:30 PM ET | 3:30 PM PT)
Live stream: WatchESPN.com - ESPN3 (7 PM ET | 4 PM PT)

Monday January 14 - Day 2 - Round 1
TV: ESPN2 (9 PM ET | 6 PM PT)
Live stream: WatchESPN.com - ESPN3 (7 PM ET | 4 PM PT)

Tuesday January 15 - Day 3 - Round 2
TV: ESPN2 (9 PM ET | 6 PM PT)
Live stream: WatchESPN.com - ESPN3 (7 PM ET | 4 PM PT)

Wednesday January 16 - Day 4 - Round 2
TV: ESPN2 (11 PM ET | 8 PM PT)
Live stream: WatchESPN.com - ESPN3 (7 PM ET | 4 PM PT)

Thursday January 17 - Day 5 - Round 3
TV: ESPN2 (11 PM ET | 8 PM PT)
Live stream: WatchESPN.com - ESPN3 (7 PM ET | 4 PM PT)

Friday January 18 - Day 6 - Round 3
TV: ESPN2 (9 PM ET | 6 PM PT)
Live stream: WatchESPN.com - ESPN3 (7 PM ET | 4 PM PT)

Saturday January 19 - Day 7 - Round 4
TV: ESPN2 (9 PM ET | 6 PM PT)
Live stream: WatchESPN.com - ESPN3 (7 PM ET | 4 PM PT)

Sunday January 20 - Day 8 - Round 4
TV: ESPN2 (9 PM ET | 6 PM PT)
Live stream: WatchESPN.com - ESPN3 (7 PM ET | 4 PM PT)

Monday January 21 - Day 9 - Quarterfinals, Doubles
TV: ESPN2 (9 PM ET | 6 PM PT) - Singles only
Live stream: WatchESPN.com - ESPN3 (7 PM ET | 4 PM PT)

Tuesday January 22 - Day 10 - Quarterfinals, Doubles
TV: ESPN2 (9 PM ET | 6 PM PT) - Singles only
Live stream: WatchESPN.com - ESPN3 (7 PM ET | 4 PM PT)

Wednesday Jan. 23 - Day 11 - Women's Semifinals
TV: ESPN2 (9:30 PM ET | 6:30 PM PT)
Live stream: WatchESPN.com

*Early mornings in the United States

Thursday January 24 - Day 12 - Men's Semifinal #1
TV: ESPN (3:30 AM ET | 12:30 AM PT)
Live stream: WatchESPN.com - ESPN3

Friday January 25 - Day 13 - Men's Semifinal #2

TV: ESPN (3:30 AM ET | 12:30 AM PT)
Live stream: WatchESPN.com - ESPN3

Saturday January 26 - Day 14 - Women's Final
TV: ESPN (3 AM ET | 12 AM PT) - Singles only
Live stream: WatchESPN.com - ESPN3

Sunday January 27 - Day 15 - Men's Final
TV: ESPN (3 AM ET | 12 AM PT)
Live stream: WatchESPN.com - ESPN3

Predictions

1) Men's Winner Prediction: Novak Djokovic. No player has enjoyed more success at the Australian Open in the past couple of years than the world no. 1 player. Djokovic has won this title three times including the last two years. The surface, atmosphere and playing condition in Melbourne seem to fit the Serb's game perfectly. Djokovic comes to Melbourne Park in terrific form, having finished 2012 in style with the ATP World Tour Finals title and played well in the warm-up tournaments. While Federer and Murray will be difficult hurdles to overcome, the top ranked player is playing too well to not win another Open title.

2. Men's Top Favorites:
1. Novak Djokovic | 2. Roger Federer (Never count the Swiss maestro out) | 3. Andy Murray (Has the game to win here but is struggling with consistency) | 4. Juan M. Del Potro (Seems to have rediscovered his 2009 form, capable of beating any of the Big Four) | 5. Thomas Berdych (Can he finally break through?).

3. Women's Winner Prediction: Serena Williams.
When she is on her game, there are few in the women's field who could seriously challenge her. Injuries and lack of matches have been Williams' only real adversaries. Even though she is recovering from a minor toe surgery and has not played much, it is hard to bet against Serena especially when she won many grand slams while not being at her best physically. Also, her record in Melbourne is impeccable with 4 titles to her credit.

4. Women's Top Favorites: 1. Serena Williams | 2. Victoria Azarenka (Australian hard court is the defending champion's best surface) | 3. Petra Kvitova (One of few players who have the power to match Serena, suffered from injuries and poor form) | 4. Maria Sharapova (Have the game to dominate most players except obviously Williams) | 5. Li Na (Fantastic record in Australia, a tough match-up for anyone).
Comments